Thunderstorm Alert for 16 districts in Odisha

The alert has been issued for Khurda (Bhubaneswar), Puri, Nayagarh, Jagatsinghpur, Rayagada, Gajapati, Ganjam, Cuttack, Balasore, Bhadrak, Mayurbhanj, Keonjhar, Jajpur, Dhenkanal, Angul and Koraput districts till 4:15 pm today.

Strong and gusty winds reaching up to a speed of 50 to 60 kmph will also prevail, therefore people have been asked to remain alert.

Earlier, Nor’wester had wreaked havoc in several parts of Odisha including Cuttack and Bhubaneswar on Wednesday.

Seven houses were reportedly damaged under the impact of strong winds in Pipili village of Rayagada while the revenue officials today started an inquiry to assess the damage caused in the thunderstorm.

In another incident a group of children had a close shave in a lightning strike incident at Podasankha village in Gajapati district yesterday. However, a coconut tree reportedly caught fire in the incident.